About the Chemistry Department

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1977 (under university status) and has units in both the Campuses.The Department is one of the most prestigious departments in the country that runs M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes. It also offers courses in basic chemistry to all UG students. It is engaged in research on chemistry of natural products, soil chemistry, chemical kinetics, chemical evolution and nanomaterials. The expertise of the Department in above areas is well recognized. The Department is well equipped with modern analytical facilities like GC, GC/MS, HPLC and FT-IR with financial assistance from FIST-DST programme. There is a Departmental library, a Student’s Aid-Fund library and Students-Own library to cater to the needs of postgraduate and research students of the Department. The department has organized various guest lecture series by eminent scientists/professors for P. G. students and also conducted ACT Concept Test-2012 for undergraduate students. The department has conducted various seminars, symposia, workshops and Refresher courses. The International Year of Chemistry (IYC-2011) was celebrated with great enthusiasm including a National Conference the P.G. students were selected in Higher Education CDRI, CIMAP, ICMR, Dabar India and Morpen Pharmaceuticals etc. The executives of various Industries visited the Department for career counseling selected as Chemists in the M/s Jubilant Organosys. The teaching faculty of the Department has several major and minor research projects from UGC, CSIR, UCOST, USERC and GBPI-IERP and has produced new results.

At undergraduate level, it has a three years degree course comprising of Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry including laboratory classes related to all these branches. The postgraduate course structure is of four semesters.

Number of seats in P. G. classes with specialization of the courses at DSB Campus, Nainital

Organic Chemistry : 20*
Physical Chemistry : 05*
Inorganic Chemistry : 05*

Number of seats in P. G. classes with specialization of the courses at SSJ Campus, Almora

Organic Chemistry : 25*
Physical Chemistry : 05*

*The number of seats is interchangeable.

The Chairperson

Prof. SPS Mehta joined the Department as Assistant Professor in March in 1976. He was promoted to the post of Associate Professor in March 1989 and then to the post of Professor of Chemistry in July 1998. Since very beginning, Prof Mehta has been actively involved in teaching, research and other administrative work of the University. His area of interest in research has been Reaction Kinetics. He has published more than 30 research papers in national and international journals. He has also presented papers in seminars/conferences. Eight students have so far been awarded Ph. D. degree and four are working presently under his supervision.

Besides teaching, Prof. Mehta has contributed by working in a number of administrative positions. He was Proctor, Dean, Students’ Welfare and Coordinator IGNOU, DSB Campus, Nainital. He also contributed as coordinator, Kumaun University Examinations and as the Director, Research & Extension of the University. He has taken over as Head, Department of Chemistry on 18th January, 2014.

Faculty Members at DSB Campus, Nainital

S.No. Name of Faculty member Designation Specialization Email id/ Phone Photograph Academic Profile
1. Dr. (Mrs.) Ganga Bisht Professor Organic Chemistry bishtganga@yahoo.com 05942-236943 (O) View profile
2. Dr. S. P. S. Mehta Professor & Head Physical Chemistry spsmehta2004@yahoo.com 05942-236943 (O) View profile
3. Dr. A. B. Melkani Professor Inorganic Chemistry melkaniab@rediffmail.com 05942-236943 (O) 9634061752 (cell) View profile
4. Dr. (Mrs.) Chandra Kala Pant Professor Organic Chemistry ckp_ku@yahoo.co.in 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
5. Dr. (Mrs.) Chitra Pande Professor Organic Chemistry pandechitra@yahoo.in 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
6. Dr. Pushpa Joshi  Professor Organic Chemistry joshipushpa68@yahoo.com 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
7. Nanda Gopal Sahoo Associate Professor Physical Chemistry ngsahoo@yahoo.co.in View Profile
8. Dr. (Mrs.) Geeta Tewari Assistant Professor Inorganic Chemistry geeta_k@reiffmail.com 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
9. Dr. Shah Raj Ali Assistant Professor Physical Chemistry shahrajali@gmail.com 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
10. Dr. Suhail Javed Assistant Professor Organic Chemistry Msuhail12003@yahoo.co.in 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
11. Mr. Mahesh Chandra Arya Assistant Professor Organic Chemistry 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
12. Mr. Manoj Dhuni Assistant Professor Organic Chemistry 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
13. Dr. C. S. Mathela Emeritus Professor Organic Chemistry mathelacs@rediffmail.com 05942-236943 (O) View Profile
14. Dr. Lalit Mohan Asstt. Professor Contractual Organic Chemistry lalit_mohan99@rediffmail.com View Profile

Faculty Members at SSJ Campus, Almora

View profile
S.No. Name of Faculty member Designation Specialization Email id/ Phone Photograph Academic profile
1. Dr. N.D.Kandpal Professor Physical Chemistry +919412093825 View profile
2. Dr. N.S. Bhandari Professor and Campus Head Inorganic Chemistry View profile
3. Dr. Sushil Kumar Joshi Professor Physical Chemistry - View profile
4. Dr. G.C. Shah Professor Organic Chemistry -
5. Dr. D.L. Verma Professor Organic Chemistry - View profile
6. Dr. Robina Amaan Associate Professor Inorganic Chemistry amanrobina@yahoo.com 05962 – 233380 (R) View profile
7. Dr. Priyanka Sagar Asstt. Professor Inorganic Chemistry - View profile
8. Mr. D.S. Dhami Assistant Professor Organic Chemistry - View profile
9. Dr. Bhuwan Chandra Assistant Professor Physical Chemistry - View profile
10. Dr. MK. Bera Assistant Professor Organic Chemistry - View profile