About the Forestry Department

The Department of Forestry, Kumaun University, Nainital was established in 1978 at DSB Campus with the objective that the students would provide knowledge for conserving and scientific management of the forests and natural resources in the region. Keeping in view, the interest of the students and the geographical situation of the region, the university started Post Graduate course in 1988. In the year 1997 forestry course also commenced at SSJ Campus, Almora. The department has also introduced a self-financed four year B. Sc. Forestry course at DSB Campus, Nainital from 2009. At present the department has post graduate and doctoral level status. The department has been accredited as an ‘A’ grade department by the Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education, Dehradun in 2010. The University Grants Commission has approved the department under Innovative program for Post Graduate Diploma in “Mountain Ecosystem and Climate Change”. Keeping in view the growing environmental concerns like global climate change, the department was upgraded to Department of Forestry and Environmental Science in 2010. The Department has published close to 300 research papers in the national and international journals of repute. The major thrust areas of research in the Department are forest ecology, seed science and technology, biodiversity and climate change, agro-forestry and medicinal plants. Over the last several years, the students of Forestry have been appointed in the Forest Corporation, Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE), paper mills and various other government and non-governmental organizations.

The Uttarakhand state with close to 65% forest area offers wide opportunities to the students with graduate and post graduate degree in Forestry. The management of forest cover is one of the major challenges before the state from which the major ecosystem services emanate. Thus, Forestry education would help in fulfilling the growing demand for Forestry professionals for conservation and management of Forestry resources at national and international levels. The development of forestry education in this remote part with a natural laboratory would help in developing the economy and managing the forests of the state as well as the nation. The forests of the state are dominated by chir-pine (Pinus roxburghii), sal (Shorea robusta) and Oaks (Quercus species) forests. The high altitude areas are covered by beautiful bughiyals (alpine meadows). Thus, various types of climatic conditions and forest types provide unique opportunity for naturalist, scientist, environmentalists, and people from all other walks of life to study nature. Besides the above natural forest types, some economic and fast growing tree species viz. Tectona grandis, Eucalyptus spp., Populus clones in Terai and Bhabar regions and exotic pines in the hills, have been raised in the region. Many forest based industries have also been setup in the neighboring cities like Haldwani, Ramnagar, Bajpur, Kashipur, Rudrapur, Lalkuan and Kotdwar. The world famous Corbett National Park, Valley of Flowers National park, Rajaji National Park, Nanda Devi Biosphere reserve, musk deer breeding center ( Dharamgharh) and 6 wild life sanctuaries are situated in the state. The students are oriented to get field exposure and enhance their knowledge in various forestry activities (field and industrial visits) in different parts of the state and the country.

The Chairman

After clearing NET examination in 1984, started Ph.D work on Ecology of High altitude grasslands and become Doctor of philosophy in the year 1989. Before joining the University, worked as RA from 1989-1992 in MoEF and CSIR schemes and as Assistant Education Officer in Ministry of HRD, New Delhi during 1992-93; become lecturer in the department of Forestry in year 1993 and Professor in the year 2010. Presently, Head Department of Forestry and Environmental Science, of the University from 2008. He has published more than 50 research papers in reputed national and International journals. He has supervised 8 Ph.D. students. In the assembly elections of 2012, become Member of Legislative Assembly of state Uttarakhand from Tharali constituency.

Faculty Members at DSB Campus, Nainital

S.No. Name of Faculty member Designation Specialization Email id/ Phone Photograph Academic Profile
1. Prof. Jeet Ram Professor & Head Ecology High Altitude Grassland jeetram2001@yahoo.com View Profile
2. Dr. Anil Kumar Yadava Associate Professor & Campus Head Forestry/Agroforestry akyadava09@gmail.com
View Profile
3. Dr. L.S. Lodhiyal Associate Professor Forest Ecology, JFM, Agro-Forestry and Watershed Management lslodhiyal@yahoo.com
05942- 235596
View Profile
4. Dr. Ashish Tewari Assistant Professor Forest Eco-physiology, Seed Science and Climate change atewari69@gmail.com
View Profile
5. Dr. Neeta Arya Contractual Faculty Ecology neetaaryadr@gmail.com
View Profile
6. Dr. Jitendra Bhatt Contractual Faculty Seed Science Jitendrabhatt_ji@yahoo.com
View Profile
7. Dr. Kuber Ginti Contractual Faculty Forestry 9410941342 View Profile
8. Dr. Beena Tewari, Fulara Contractual Faculty Ecology beena_tewari@yahoo.co.in 9410377409 View Profile
9. Dr. Ira Tewari Teaching Personnel Forestry ... View Profile
10. Dr. Bijendra Lal Teaching Personnel Forestry bijendraforestry85@gmail.com
7409762350, 9411360505
View Profile
11. Dr.Jyoti Pandey Teaching Personnel Forestry 9761323366 View Profile

Courses offered in the Department: ( DSB Campus, Nainital)

Program Duration Annual intake of students
U. G B. Sc. Forestry (self- financed) 4 Years degree (8 Sem) 25
B. Sc. 3 Years 40
P.G M. Sc Forestry 2 Years (4 Sem) 10
Ph. D Forestry As per availability of seats
P. G. Diploma Mountain Ecosystem and Climate Change 1 Year (2 Sem) 10

Courses offered in the Department: ( SSJ Campus, Almora)

Program Duration Annual intake of students
U. G B. Sc 3 Years 50
P.G M. Sc Forestry 2 Years (4 Sem)  
Ph. D Forestry As per availability of seats